Archdiocese of Baltimore Logo

Stay Connected   Share   Print   

Our Faith

The Catholic faith rests upon four pillars:

The Creed: The Faith Professed

  • All that we are expected to believe is summed up in the revelation o f Jesus Christ. God has spoken all that is necessary for our Salvation in Jesus, the Word made flesh, and gives us the gift of faith, which enables us to respond, accept, and live our beliefs.

Sacraments: The Faith Celebrated

  • The saving gifts of Christ's ministry are encountered in the liturgy and are available to us in the sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Marriage and Holy Orders. 

Christian Morality: The Faith Lived

  • The call to live as a disciple of Jesus Christ is a call to love God and neighbor, to respect the dignity of every person, to practice virtue and forgiveness, and to work for justice in society.

Prayer: The Faith Prayed

  • Catholics express their faith in many types pf prayer: adoration, petition, intercession, thanksgiving and praise. The Eucharistic Liturgy—the Mass—is the primary prayer of the whole church.

- from United States Catholic Catechism for Adults, United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, Introduction.